Dancing Out of Nowhere

Hand Reaching

Every single day it’s there.

In every story, I see it. In every song, I hear it…

The invitation to step out of my comfort zone. The outstretched hand imploring me to come dance. The whisper to be brave and walk into something I don’t even know.

And every day, I find a reason to stay where I am, feet stubbornly grounded in Nowhere. Because I know that place very well. I’ve actually been impressed at the creative excuses I come up with each day to stay here.

I was reading about a day in Jesus’ life this week. He told his disciples to do two things, both absolutely impossible and absolutely terrifying. First, he told them to feed a hungry mob of 5,000 men, plus women and children, with five loaves of bread and two fish. A bit later, he invited one of them to step out of a boat and join him walking on the waves.

These are stories many of us have heard since childhood and, for me, it’s been easy to read them from a critical perspective. You’re with Jesus, people!!

Well, it really hit me this week…I’m in the same exact shoes and doing a much worse job of walking in them. He is also with ME. He is also beckoning ME into unknown adventures too. And I just sit here looking at Him with reasons why I can’t join Him.

The truth is – like it or not, acknowledge it or not – we are simultaneously operating in two very different realities. One is the natural, which we see with our eyes and touch with our hands. The other is spiritual, supernatural, which we cannot see or touch.

Let me tell you something. It is absolutely terrifying to step out of a boat and expect a firm surface to walk on. Especially in front of your friends, coworkers, and family members.

It is absolutely terrifying to walk into a hungry crowd expecting to feed them with a piece of a breadstick and a fish tail. In the natural, that’s usually what it feels like I’ve got to offer.

What an honor that He asks us to partner with Him to do things that are absolutely impossible in the natural, and that He keeps asking! He reminds me – if He has asked us to do it, He will provide the miracle to make it happen. He will bless and multiply what little we have to offer. He blesses even the tiniest step toward Him.

So today, as boldly as I can, I hold up this tiny bite and ask Him to bless and multiply my efforts. To feed someone hungry to hear it, as it fed me this week. I don’t want to spend any more time in the shadows of Nowhere, no matter how comfortable it may be to hide there. I say YES to His invitation to dance into our adventure together.

“…when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is.”
~Jesus, John 16:13 (The Message)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joel
    Apr 06, 2017 @ 20:02:27

    Wow! Inspiring and frightening at the same time. It very much hit home with me as I’m sure it will with others. A word that most everyone needs to hear at some point in their lives. Thank you for stepping out and sharing your piece of bread and fish tail. I know that Jesus will bless it, and it will feed anyone who has a desire to be fed.

    Reply

  2. Jacquelyn Smit Petersen
    Apr 06, 2017 @ 20:40:34

    So love this, ” that’s usually what it feels like I’ve got to offer”. Nailed it- I mean, look at what He does with our little bits 🙂

    Reply

  3. French Crook (dad)
    Apr 08, 2017 @ 05:33:42

    Great post! Been missing these. Not like you’ve been busy or anything. Just the regular things plus a courtship, wedding, more than doubling your family size, moving, etc. Simply no excuse whatsoever. Love you, Dad

    Reply

  4. Shirley Crook
    Apr 08, 2017 @ 05:46:58

    Thank you for an excellent reminder to do all for His glory, share light in darkness in our daily lives. I love you, darling daughter, and your example of trusting Jesus in real, sometimes hard, life situations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

